Saraiki Language Alphabet (Perso-Arabic)

Saraiki has a 43-letter alphabet, which includes four letters not used in the related Punjabi and Hindko languages. Another difference the Saraiki alphabet has with Shahmukhi is the disuse of the already uncommon Lam with the above which is present in standard Shahmukhi.

There are three writing systems for Saraiki, but very few of the language’s speakers, even those who are literate in other languages, are able to read or write Saraiki in any writing system.